Other Resources > Component Deals & Selection

UST tyres

(1/4) > >>

flanglian:
Hi. I am struggling to negotiate the UST/tubeless tyre mire! In the majority of cases, none of the tyre manufacturers make a clear differentiation on their sites between their UST and tubeless models.

I'm hoping that friendly CT member(s) can advise, if running UST, which tyres they're using and why!   

Sitar_Ned:
Hope you don't mind, Flanglian - Moved your thread to the components section.

Good question, and a pretty confusing topic when you first dive into it. I'm no expert so please correct where I'm wrong but I think the most important thing to do when attempting to negotiate the UST/tubeless tyre mire is to make sure you have a solid understanding of all the different definitions.

UST tires are thicker, heavier, and mostly (or completely) air tight. The benefits supposedly are more securely seated, more dependable tyre set-up. Then there are tubeless ready tyres that are lighter, thinner, and may require more sealant to keep them air tight. I would venture to guess that tubeless ready is what most people use when running tubeless set-ups, but that is just a guess. In reality, you could run a standard tubed tyre tubeless and in fact many people do. Personally, I'd avoid going that route. Not that you mentioned taking, but thought it was worth pointing out. Bottom line is "tubeless ready" is most likely what you want to look into getting. And actually, most manufacturers do list what type of tyre it is on their websites it's just that you have familiarize yourself with even more definitions bc they all use different marketing phrases to designate what is what. For instance, I believe Specialized has their UST tyres and then their "2bliss" tyres which are the tubeless ready ones.

You also should consider the type of rims the tyres will be going on. You didn't mention the wheels you'll be running?

Carbon_Dude: