Author Topic: TanTan TT-X3 Frame  (Read 827 times)

the_tiger

TanTan TT-X3 Frame
« on: March 15, 2021, 03:43:33 AM »
Hello,
I'm new to building a bike completely by myself, but am experienced in servicing nearly all the parts on my bikes. Over the next months I'd like to build up a road bike and I'd like to use some chinese carbon frame for it.

The frame that caught my interest ist the TanTan TT-X3 carbon frame. It's available on aliexpress for ~300 USD (https://aliexpress.com/item/33048653511.html?spm=a2g0x.12010612.8148356.31.6eed4bb0g7FIZK) which seems to me like a pretty low price for a complete frame/fork setup. Does anyone know this frame or maybe even have already ridden it? I'm not sure what I can expect in terms of quality and ride feel...
Is there any particular disadvantage of the BB386EVO bottom bracket? I suppose threaded bottom brackets would be easier to (dis)assemble and service, but is there more to it other than having to press it in?
What I'm also not sure of is the availability of spareparts in the future. Suppose due to a crash I break my rear derailleur hanger, will I be able to get another one years from now?

Best regards

carbonazza

Re: TanTan TT-X3 Frame
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2021, 05:25:31 AM »
A threaded BB is in fact a pressfit(bearings are pressed in cups) that you screw into the frame.
If the two threads are not aligned perfectly, it will be as poor as a pressfit with poorly aligned shells.
Once you have a press or a M13 bolt, it is as easy to maintain as a threaded one.

BB386 is the best pressfit standard. It is wide.
And it allows bigger spindles, DUB-29mm and 30mm to fit with cheaper and easy to find bearings.

TanTan is a reputable brand, you'll find plenty of good reviews here.
Unless you are very sensible to bike geometry details, for instance chainstay length, seat tube and head tube angles, etc. this frame will make you happy for such a good price.

As everyone here, buy one or two more hangers it is $10.

FHS