Author Topic: Broken frame  (Read 15093 times)

carbonazza

Re: Broken frame
« Reply #30 on: December 08, 2015, 02:09:03 PM »
Patrick, that is very interesting. It is already dark here.
I'll post better pictures tomorrow morning.

RS VR6

« Reply #31 on: December 08, 2015, 03:10:57 PM »
Good stuff Patrick. The general bike buying public really has no idea what goes into the production of a carbon frame...including me. You just have to take the word of the manufacturers on how the frame is made. If you buy a $3k frame...you just have to assume that the materials and research you expect are actually in the frame.

I'm real curious to see a Specialized (or any big brand) frame cross sectioned and compared to a well known open mold (non bootleg) China frame. Done by a third party with no brand bias.

Patrick C.

« Reply #32 on: December 08, 2015, 03:29:18 PM »
Again, I'm no expert in composite failure modes, but nothing I've seen would stop me from riding my Chiner frame.  There is a lot of info out on the web, but it can be tough to sift through and find anything relevant.  It may be describing a completely different process than making bike frames, but this paper has a few pictures of broken test bars- http://www.scielo.br/scielo.php?pid=S1516-14392005000100016&script=sci_arttext  - the loading method has a big influence on what the fracture looks like as well as the layup. Particularly interesting (to me, anyway) was the conclusion-
"In general, the flexural and shear tests showed that the matrix type caused greater influence on the mechanical properties than the carbon fabric arrangement type. The F584/PW and F584/8HS laminates showed the highest flexural strength values than the F155 epoxy ones. This behavior is attributed to the higher toughness of the F584 matrix, which was modified with a thermoplastic"