Author Topic: MTB Home trainer Software  (Read 26803 times)

seahog32

Re: MTB Home trainer Software
« Reply #60 on: November 28, 2016, 11:35:42 AM »
I can provide some feedback on the Zwift FTP building plan. I could be wrong but I find the sessions a bit too relaxed to me. I wish I would push harder. I'm afraid I don't get all the benefit I could from the session because the intensity is a bit low.

Maybe you were just slacking a little on your last FTP test. Did you puke at all at the end of your test? Just dicking around. ;) I have no personal experience with Zwift. I feel I would find it a little distracting for the sweetspot/threshold/VO2max indoors training. But then, it may be just my personality. I am the kind of guy who is perfectly happy just to concentrate on keeping my output power within 5 Watts (the closer, the happier) of the prescribed curve. OCD is likely the diagnosis.

SportingGoods

« Reply #61 on: November 29, 2016, 04:36:31 AM »
You are perfectly correct  ;D I was absolutely not at 100%. it's not easy to determine the proper power you can sustain for 20 minutes.

I know for sure that my FTP is somewhere between 250W and 300W. I have already done a climb that was almost 60 minutes at 251W. Then I had some more strength to keep riding for another 60 minutes (and I did not puke!). But all my numbers show that I'm still <300W. That's Strava power.
Then the next question is: is Strava power accurate?

Well, after watching a GCN video where they ask the same question about Powermeters I get my answer. The short answer is "Yes, Strava power is pretty accurate on pure climbs provided that you have properly logged your weight and bike weight". Don't rely on it for flat or descent.
If you know a climb (length, elevation) that you have timed yourself on, you can calculate pretty accurately your power, here (look in the "hill climbing menu):
http://www.wolfgang-menn.de/
GCN used this tool to validate their powermeter!

SportingGoods