Author Topic: Thoughts on a more aggressive build on a 057?  (Read 2586 times)

kepper

Thoughts on a more aggressive build on a 057?
« on: December 31, 2016, 04:14:50 PM »
So i've never had a carbon bike, but after some research on this site I'm intrigued!  Im looking to build a HT 29er to compliment my bigger FS more all mountain bike (kona process 153).  I'd like this HT to be a bit of a do it all (bikepacking/big trail days/more mellow trails) as I'm a traveling physical therapist and sometimes wind up on trails that arent as technical as the Colorado/Utah/Arizona area where I normally ride and the 6 inches of travel is a bit overkill most of the time.  I dont race (def not XC) and def like to descend more....so i have a few questions from you experts out there!

I as looking at frame options like the canfield yeli, kona honzo, ect (more progressive geo type HT's) but cant convince myself to build a HT that weighs close to 30 lbs (kinda defeats the point)...but I also cant convince myself to drop 4-5K on the honzo carbon or canfield epo either

My thoughts are that the 057 is the frame that seems to be a pretty good sweet spot, and I as thinking of specing it with a 120mm fork and likely a dropper with a bit of a burlier overall build.  Im thinking that it would probably slack out to around 67.5-68 deg in riding position and I'm hoping to land under 25lbs for under $2K. 

Does this seem reasonable?  Would this leave me with something that pedals and climbs like a goat but can still get a little rowdie on the descents (small jumps and drops but nothing crazy).  Do you guys use any frame protection?  Has anyone built something similar to this and have insight?  Any other frames I should be considering? Any frames with internal routing for a dropper?  and most importantly, is this just a dumb idea haha?! Thanks in advance!

Patrick C.

Re: Thoughts on a more aggressive build on a 057?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2016, 07:02:52 PM »