Author Topic: ICAN P1 or P9 with 140 fork and 215 shock  (Read 4187 times)

Sumbtrgave

ICAN P1 or P9 with 140 fork and 215 shock
« on: May 14, 2020, 05:40:45 PM »
Hello guys

I've discovered through Google this forum as I've seen various threads here about ICAN chinese carbon frames. I've read through all those threads and I assume everyone who purchased such a frame seems to be happy with it and therefore I am also interested to acquire one, either a P1 or a P9.

However, to save some money I would like to carry over my previous shock and fork but am unsure if those fit. It's my first MTB I'm gonna build from scratch and I am completely new to MTB geometry.

So those are the specs of the shock and the fork:
Fork: FOX 34 TALAS fit ctd remote 29", 15mm axle, tapered, 140mm travel, kashima coat, 3-modes climb-trail-descend, lowerable to 110mm
Rear shock: FOX FLOAT CTD bv remote, 215mm length, 25.4mm x 8mm hardware, kashima coat, 3-modes climb-trail-descenD

As I understood the ICAN P1 has less travel and is therefore more suitable for the 140 mm fork, however, it is designed for a 200 mm shock.
The ICAN P9 is to my knowledge designed for a 150-160 mm fork, is this right? Or would a 140 mm fork also be suitable without destroying the geometry? Also, it is designed for a 210 mm shock. I've thought those 5 mm to my shock may not be too dangerous, but I'm just assuming until someone says otherwise. Or I could use offset bushings to correct the position?

I've already asked the question about the fork to ICAN directly via AliExpress messenger but they reply very meager. Literally their response was "P1 is trail, p9 is enduro, all are great, recommend P9".

What are your thoughts about the possibilities to carry over my previous components to one of those two frames? If the rear shock is completley unusable, which of those two frames are better with the 140 mm fork?

emu26

Re: ICAN P1 or P9 with 140 fork and 215 shock
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2020, 01:14:09 AM »