Author Topic: Good frame company bad experience with BXT  (Read 6653 times)

Lukesjr

Good frame company bad experience with BXT
« on: August 01, 2022, 10:46:32 AM »
Hey all,
New to this forum.  I have been building bikes for over 20 years (I am almost 50!), built up 4 "china bikes" (plus about 15 others, surly, lynskey, etc). For china bikes, road bike (don't remember brand), Airwolf hardtail, seraph gravel, and most recently a carbonmaina (bxt) full suspension bike (FM078). The BXT bike frame has been trash since I got it.   The bearings weren't seated properly, because the frame tolerances are out of spec.  This caused pivot bolts to break mid ride because of the out of perpendicular torque applied to the bolt.  I emailed carbonmania who gave me a bxt email.  Emailed them several times, they asked for pictures, etc.  When I sent them the last pictures of the frame measurements that seemed to be out of tolerance, they ghosted me.  Neither carbonmania nor BXT will respond to any contact.  I will never buy from them again.

Anyways, I am posting because I want to build up a full suspension trail bike.  Don't want to make the same mistake of buying from a crappy company again. 

requirements
Front fork travel 140-150
BSA BB
no through headset cable routing
reasonable price.

Any recommendations on a good company that stands behind their product?

I read a bunch of the forum posts and it seems like people like light carbon,  carbonda, or ican.  Ican seems a bit pricier than the others.

casual_build

Re: Good frame company bad experience with BXT
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2022, 03:30:32 PM »
Personally, I've only bought from Carbonda. I got a FM936 two years ago and a FM1002 a month ago (although it hasnt shipped yet).