Author Topic: Planning new XC/DC? build  (Read 1013 times)

Ryan_M

Planning new XC/DC? build
« on: December 15, 2023, 11:35:49 PM »
Before I get into it, Im curious about forum etiquette here. Should I start 5+ different threads discussing the individual parts or do it all in one thread? I was thinking the later woud be better since all the info is in one spot, but don't wanna be a nuisance. Thanks

acedeuce802

Re: Planning new XC/DC? build
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2023, 07:53:59 AM »
I would say it depends on how much discussion will follow. Quick questions about peoples preference for components or help with fitment? Keep it part of a single build thread. New component on the market that would spark a lot of discussion? Maybe a new thread.

Ryan_M

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2023, 06:47:44 PM »
Thanks.

All of this is to get feedback and advice on the build as a whole so context likely maters. I'm pretty new to mountain biking and rode a hardtail I cobled together for the last part of the season to see how I liked it. I f'n loved it!... but also noticed some shortcommings with the bike. Namely suspension, I need rear sus. The hard tail is almost good enough and I don't want to be over biked so going for full sus XC, or downcountry, or light trail?, depending where those blurry lines lay. I'm not working within the limits of a budget but I aim for bang for the buck, or the point of diminishing returns. For example I'm a Shimano XT type person... noticably better than Deore for a cost I feel is justifiable, not thowing 2x the $$$ at it to get XTR just to save a few grams but I can be talked into a lot of things LOL.