Chinese Carbon Road Bikes > Road Bike Frames, Wheels & Components

Rust Proof Brake Discs?

(1/1)

RBT:
Hello, I'm a newbie to the site and this is my first post here! I'm trying to get back into riding after far too many years away! I've lots of questions, but I'll just post one at a time :)

I need a new bike. My budget is US$ 800 all-in. Definitely not a lot!

I could buy a pre-built bike with alu frame with carbon forks and Claris 2x8sp group, which is fairly nice. But I'm a rocket engineer and I like building things! ;) So I'm also investigating the possibility of building an ultra-low-cost carbon bike using parts mostly from Ali.

I have my eye on a Ceccotti frame that I can get for $313 delivered, together with an LTWOO R7 10sp full group w/ rim brakes for $216. I should be able to get a used set of wheels (such as Shimano RS500) in good condition on ebay for about $120, which leaves $151 - enough to get some Continental GP 4 All Seasons tires to get the most out of the system, and still be able to pay for bars, cables, tape, pedals etc. without going over my budget limit.

So, my first question is about disc brakes: I live on the Space Coast of Florida and the really hot, humid, salt-laden air here rusts and corrodes EVERYTHING, horribly. I'd like to go for mechanical disc brakes instead of rim, but the rust issue holds me back. Can anyone suggest any disc suppliers who have rust proof products?

Cheers,

Ross.

Serge_K:
I've never seen rusty bike discs. Is that a thing? If you're in Florida, go talk to GC Performance from youtube? He will have relevant insights. He might have goodies for you too, who knows. Could be an interesting project for him to post about.
For this budget, i'd say second hand, but i can understand you like building things. I'd still buy 2nd hand. Rim brake stuff is cheap these days, residual value on deep carbon rim bikes is low, and Florida is flat, so probably safe to run used rim carbon wheels