5 (35.7%)
Shimano SPD
8 (57.1%)
Time
0 (0%)
Ritchey
1 (7.1%)

Total Members Voted: 14

Author Topic: Crank Brothers vs. Shimano SPD vs. ??? for a novice  (Read 18840 times)

jwilds1

Crank Brothers vs. Shimano SPD vs. ??? for a novice
« on: May 05, 2015, 12:14:26 PM »
I'm looking at taking the leap into clipless.  For a novice, what would you recommend? 

Re: Crank Brothers vs. Shimano SPD vs. ??? for a novice
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2015, 02:17:58 PM »
I used SPD for 2 years then switched to Crank Brothers. They both work fine. Kinda like the Crank Brothers better because they're lighter.

RS VR6

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2015, 03:15:47 PM »
I've used both Shimano and Crank Brothers. For me...I prefer the Crank Brothers. I like the ease of entry and exit. I also like the free float the pedal has. Quality-wise...the Crank Brothers seem to be hit or miss. I've been using CB pedals for the past 10 years and I've never had a problem. I use the Eggbeater 3 and my girlfriend has the Candy 3. I have another bike running the Mallet 3.

If you plan on running the Eggbeater pedal. I suggest getting shoes with nice stiff soles. The pedal is real narrow and doesn't have much support for the shoe lengthwise.

cmh

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2015, 07:04:13 PM »
I'm looking at taking the leap into clipless.  For a novice, what would you recommend?

I ran the egg beaters for a while, and the biggest issue I had with them was when I'd hit a pedal on a rock, it would cause the pedal to open and eject my foot when I didn't want it to. Also, they've got a little side-to-side float, but only two release options which are based on heel angle, not so much release force. My wife's been running eggbeaters for her clipless pedals as long as she's been riding clipless, and loves them. Plus, they're among the lightest things out there, which is good because her bikes are always the weight weenie project bikes.