Author Topic: Anyone else feel guilty?  (Read 3516 times)

trekcarbonboy

Anyone else feel guilty?
« on: May 06, 2015, 02:48:41 PM »
I stopped by my local shop where I have been buying my bikes since 1992. I just needed some new road tires and couldn't shake this guilty feeling knowing that I'm building a new bike and not giving them that business. They don't know yet but eventually we'll be out on a ride together. Feels like I'm cheating on them.
I know they can't sell me a bike as nice for the same price but it still doesn't feel right.   :-\

Molothi

Re: Anyone else feel guilty?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2015, 03:13:29 PM »
Hi trekcarbonboy
Don't feel guilty - today you're building a new bike without them... but who knowns if you won't do it with them again later ?

I was a regular customer to my local shop too, but when you want a dream to come true ... sometimes you need to find other solutions than usual ones, specificaly when it's a question of money
when you can have a better build for lower price... why hesitating? It's not an act of betrayal against your local shop... it's something they can understand
and it's also challenging for them to get you back in their shop

as I said I was a regular customer too, I previously accepted to pay a little more than what I can find on the web for a while (to expect a good and quick local support or having some easy doing sometimes)
but after a bad experience for a question of guarantee on a frame, I decided to stop spending (wasting) money in something I can get for a lower price elsewhere - I don't want to buy well know brand frames anymore because they are too expensive compared to our great Chiner frames  ;) and for me the price does not make always the difference

I know that my story is a little different than yours, but that the reason of my presence here, and why I build a great bike based a Chiner frame (my lovely FM 196  ;D )

you can feel good, don't worry for that  ;)

MTNRCKT