Author Topic: Help with ICAN P8 build - Part selection  (Read 3330 times)

Janz99

Help with ICAN P8 build - Part selection
« on: April 02, 2018, 11:33:41 AM »
Hey guys, I am in the middle of building up an Ican P8 and would love some suggestions for the remaining parts I need to finish the build.  This is my first time building a bike from scratch and will be my first full suspension bike. 

For the most part I ride alot of single track trails. I can see hard pack, loose dirt, rooty and rocky all in the same trail.  There are no majour down hills around here but I would like to do a little traveling this summer to a few dedicated bike parks. 

This is what I have so far:
-Ican P8 frame
-Manitou Mcleod rear shock
-Ican AM275-40 wheel set
-Shimano XT 1x drivetrain and derailure
-Shimano XT 160mm front and rear brakes
-Shimano XT 170mm crank set

As the bike sits right now:

Parts still needed:
-Front fork
-Stem
-Handle bars and grips
-Front and rear tires
-Dropper seat post
-Seat

Fork - I am looking at the Manitou Mattoc comp fork.  I would love to make the jump to the Pro level fork, but im not sure its in the budget right now.  What do you guys think of this fork?

Stem - One of the raceface options.  Im not really sure which to choose or how long of a stem should be ordered

Handle bar/grips, seat, and dropper seat post - Open to suggestions

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Large Ican P8, Dropper Post and Manitou Shock For Sale

http://chinertown.com/index.php/topic,1588.0.html

lRaphl

Re: Help with ICAN P8 build - Part selection
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2018, 10:38:17 AM »
If you're on a budget, you can go with the ChainReactionCycle Brand-X Ascend dropper. If you're ready to put a little bit more money, you can get the Marzocchi Transfer post. This is the exact same post as the Fox Transfer Performance post but for a lot less money (Fox owns Marzocchi). This is the move I've done last fall.