Author Topic: I think I am officially a "Bike Snob".....  (Read 3879 times)

bxcc

I think I am officially a "Bike Snob".....
« on: July 07, 2016, 08:59:21 AM »
So awhile back, my wife started calling me a bike snob. Why? I think it's because I have been working on helicopters for 20+ years and I am very particular when it comes to things working properly. I don't need the best brands, heck, 2 of my bikes aren't even a brand at all. She thinks it's because I need to have the best bikes and tweak them until they are perfect and then either 1) start tweaking her bikes, 2) buy a new bike, or 3) start tweaking the same bike all over again. Who is correct is still up for discussion.

I do think that I am starting to win though. She had never expressed any burning desire to try my bikes. Well one day a few weeks ago, I convinced her to go on a women's group ride that was happening about a mile from our house. It is pretty flat but also very technical with all the rocks and roots and I mentioned that she should take the 29+ bike. Well she comes home glowing from how the ride went and how she loved the bike. So now that she has the Tallboy 3 frame and we are getting all the parts ordered, she is wanting the build to be similar to the 29+ bike. She is now starting to see how too much weight, poor shifting, and poor suspension setup can kill a bike. So maybe, just maybe, she is becoming one too....

Am I alone or is there a place where there are others like me and we can have meetings or something?

carbonazza

Re: I think I am officially a "Bike Snob".....
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2016, 11:34:48 AM »
20+ years also but in software, where everything must be perfect too to run smoothly(although without life or death issues you have).
Any suspect noise, malfunction or potential improvement on the bike is immediately treated.

No, you are not alone!