Author Topic: Please help me choose a frame  (Read 2354 times)

justanothermtb

Please help me choose a frame
« on: July 26, 2016, 11:27:29 AM »
My bike got stolen yesterday and I'm thinking about building a bike with a chinese carbon frame. This is my first time building a bike. There are so many different frames and I don't know which ones are worthwhile, which is why I'm asking here. I'm about 5'9" with a 29" inseam so I think 17" would be a good size of frame. I see so many models like 057, 218, M009, 062, 202, 256, 041, etc, and I'm not sure which ones are reliable and would be good for me. How do I go about comparing them?

Thanks in advance.

Midwest-MTBer

Re: Please help me choose a frame
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 12:24:45 PM »
Welcome to Chinertown!

So your request is sort of vague, but I will try to help answer and provide a few starting points for you to consider. I guess picking out a frame is really a personal preference. Do you want a hardtail or full suspension bike? A 27.5 or 29 wheel size? There have been quite a few builds with the 256 and 036 so those frames are very proven and have a lot of documentation on this site for your use. Those other frames probably have been built up and you just need to find the threads that have them. I would start by looking at geometry and component compatibility and go from there. Just as a warning, the information on here may seem overwhelming and confusing, but just google the stuff you don't understand. There's plenty of information availible online to help you figure out your build. I'm actually starting my first build here at the end of this week and this forum has basically been where I have accumulated all of the information I needed. If we all agree on anything in this forum, it's that you should probably look into getting your frame from Peter at xmcarbonspeed.com. Check out his site and come back to this thread with some more directed questions based on specific frames.

- Midwest

justanothermtb