Author Topic: Using full cable housing internally  (Read 1764 times)

Dictatorsaurus

Using full cable housing internally
« on: March 12, 2020, 09:15:57 AM »
Can someone please share the procedure of routing the internal cable frame ends to route a full housing for the rear shifter cable for the CS-057 frame?

Jotegr

Re: Using full cable housing internally
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2020, 12:03:36 AM »
I'll be honest, I know nothing about that frame but I do know quite a bit about dealing with horrible internal routing. What's the issue you're having? Most internal routing issues end up getting solved with time, effort, frustration, and those little red connector things that reverbs come with.

sclyde2

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2020, 03:54:54 AM »
i have some experience with this.  not the actual implementation of the internal routing with full length housing, but I have experienced issues with this frame's internal routing, so i have done a bit of research on this topic over the years, but not yet implemented.  my FM-057 (pretty sure it is the same frame still) has just turned 6.  it lasted a couple of years with internal cable routing for the rear shifting, but it deteriorated over time, such that i ended up externally routing it.  i did consider the idea you are thinking (trying to get the housing through the frame), but, at the time, i couldn't see how it could be done, and i did read at least one or two stories of people who did it (buried somewhere in the monster thread on mtbr), and i got scared off - they didnt really detail how they did it, what their issues were, but they advised against it.  so i have been running external routing for at least 3 or 4 years now.