Other Resources > Component Deals & Selection

Magene P325 CS - First Impressions

<< < (2/2)

Nicoloc:
Hello
Do you have any feedback on P325C reliability ?
Are you still happy with it ?
Nicoloc

theirishrider:
I’ve been using the dual sided version for 2 years ish now. Works very well. 10/10

1Sigma:

--- Quote from: Nicoloc on September 21, 2022, 12:23:16 AM ---Hello
Do you have any feedback on P325C reliability ?
Are you still happy with it ?
Nicoloc

--- End quote ---

So, first off a couple disclaimers:
1) I may be selling Magene stuff in the future which may bias me. I'll try to be as impartial as possible
2) this is my first power meter, so I have no prior experience to draw from
That being said...

Accuracy: I find the accuracy to be good, at least to itself. Meaning efforts of similar strain always produce consistent numbers.  Similar efforts between me and riders with similar profiles yield similar wattage.
It tends to be about 5% different than my Turbo trainer power.  Can't isolate the offender. It could just be because the power is being measured from 2 different spots (crank vs the trainer) and the differences are just transmission losses.
The P325CS is very sensitive. Meaning it picks up EVERYTHING. This is very apparent on poor roads. Of freewheeling and you got a bump, itll pick it up. Micro adjustments to keep a steady cadence on rough roads? It'll pick it up.  Heavier on one foot? It'll pick it up.
One one hand greater fidelity is a good thing.  On the other, unless you are on smooth roads, your 3! Second power will still jump around a lot.
If I were to be very critical, I would still have to say they are accurate enough to train with
The only way to check accuracy for sure would be for me to get a pair of Assiomas as well

Chainrings: I hear the earlier chainrings were flexy under power. I can't confirm, as I swapped them out for 1x.