Author Topic: Velobuild VB-R-099 Build Questions  (Read 1605 times)

J-S-Q

Velobuild VB-R-099 Build Questions
« on: January 08, 2022, 05:36:58 AM »
I recently received a VB-R-099 frame and wheel set from Velobuild. I'm sure I'll have some questions as I get into the build but here's one for now...

This is my first time using tubeless tyres. The front tyre went on quite easily. The rear was more of a struggle but after several attempts and the use of some soapy water, I got the tyre mounted using only a track pump. However, when I deflate it, it will become unseated from the rim (it will re-inflate easily and appear to be well seated although I don't get the 'pop' sound). Both tyres lose pressure over several hours but I'm assuming this will be solved after I add sealant. I've tried leaving the tyre inflated at 100psi for 24 hours and it still becomes unseated when I deflate it.

Is this a problem? Or should I just get on and add the sealant without worrying about it?
« Last Edit: January 08, 2022, 05:38:33 AM by J-S-Q »

Gliderboy

Re: Velobuild VB-R-099 Build Questions
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2022, 11:47:50 AM »
I´m by no means expert on the subject, but all my tubeless wheels leak, be it "chiners" or branded ones.
I check my tyre pressure before every ride anyway, so it´s not a issue.

/Jan
Fully MTB IP-036 in 2016 - Gravel GR-002 in 2021

J-S-Q

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2022, 04:51:20 PM »
I´m by no means expert on the subject, but all my tubeless wheels leak, be it "chiners" or branded ones.
I check my tyre pressure before every ride anyway, so it´s not a issue.

/Jan

It's not the pressure drop that I'm concerned about - more the fact that the tyre partially unseats from the rim when I deflate the tyre.

zaphodbeeblebrox

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2022, 07:33:05 PM »
It should be fine. The velobuild set of wheels I have also don't hold air without sealant. But I bet it's more a questionable tape job than the rim itself.

Zoc