Author Topic: Aluminium 700c wheel gravel  (Read 964 times)

Aluminium 700c wheel gravel
« on: September 23, 2022, 04:38:29 AM »
Hello everyone, I have been lurking for a while on the forum. Checking all of the velobuild,carbonda,sensah empire build.
I know most of the entry level carbon recommended is elite wheel ent. (Correct me if I am wrong ).

I am really new to cycling so I won't go directly to full carbon etc...as my bicycle is my way of commuting and escaping a little in forest
I am looking for an aluminium gravel wheel 700c around 1500g -1700g for my simple Decathlon triban grvl.

I plan on building a carbonda next year if possible .
I am looking for a cheap wheelset for this winter to save money and continue riding before upgrading to carbonda and carbon wheel.
What could you recommend?

My stock wheels at the moment are 2.4kg
And quick release specifications are
Axle QR 9 * 135 REAR, 9 * 100 FRONT

Can I update to a thru axle also ?

I hope I get a read, to anyone reading this hello from France

bamboo_mountain

Re: Aluminium 700c wheel gravel
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2022, 08:39:55 AM »
Welcome to the forum!

I have actually just ordered some very cheap Koozer CX1800 gravel wheels from Aliexpress to test out, they are a bit over your target weight at around 1800g. They come in either QR or thru axle, but in your case, you probably can't change from QR to thru axle unless you swap frames as well.

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2022, 09:22:01 AM »
Yeah cool that's the only one I could find and I had it in folder of screenshots before I asked here :). So thanks I will try them out also :)

bamboo_mountain

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2022, 11:40:07 AM »
Yeah cool that's the only one I could find and I had it in folder of screenshots before I asked here :). So thanks I will try them out also :)