Author Topic: Downcountry ramblings  (Read 1275 times)

jannmayer

Downcountry ramblings
« on: December 10, 2022, 10:00:04 AM »

I've been thinking about upgrading my bike for a while but keep going around in circles as to what I want. I thought I'd post my ramblings here and maybe someone will have some good insights. Or maybe just writing it down will help my get it sorted.  :)

I've been riding mountain bikes since the early 1990s (with some gaps), and always on a hardtail. I currently live in San Diego, California, and frequently ride Black Mountain. Del Mar Mesa, and Lake Hodges. My rides are mostly XC but with some chunky rocky bits thrown in. I don't do drops or jumps or anything too fast, but I do want something that can handle the occasional technical bit without throwing me over the bars, so something in the "downcountry" category should be what I want. My current bike is a Salsa Timberjack (previous model) with a 120 mm fork and roughly 67.5 to 68 degree head angle. I'm happy with the fit, and I could go a little more aggressive on the geometry, but I do like being able to maneuver on tight trails.

My biggest question is whether it's time to go full suspension or not. I've been on a hard tail my whole life, and my only experience on a full suspension bike was when I demoed a Santa Cruz Blur TR a few months ago. I loved it since it took the edge off the bumps but was still a very efficient bike. However, every time I ride my hardtail I have a good time, and I do enjoy the challenges of getting through things without the help of a rear shock. I'm worried that I would miss that, and I do like the simplicity of a hard tail. I was pretty sore at the end of my last long, rocky ride though.