Author Topic: Bottom Bracket/Magene P505 Compatibility  (Read 527 times)

reckonair

Bottom Bracket/Magene P505 Compatibility
« on: April 13, 2024, 04:11:43 AM »
Hi All,

New here, looking to build up a bike using an Elves Vanyar, I want it to be on the lighter side of things but also want to record my power output, I’m at a loss on the compatibility side of things as I’m new to building - the elves Frameset comes with a “either a BB386 -24R Shimano compatible, BB386-29R SRAM DUB or BB386-30R Rotor bottom bracket.”, I want to pair carbon chainrings (looking at the riro GXP ones) with a magene PES p505, would this be possible?

Thanks!

TidyDinosaur

Re: Bottom Bracket/Magene P505 Compatibility
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2024, 04:25:33 AM »
The Riro Carbon crank will fit a shimano compatible BB. I have 2 and on one I have the P505 PM.
BUT: the spindle on the crank is too short to be able to fit all bottom brackets. I consider this a fault in the design. I could not get the bolt of the crank tight enough with an Aliexpress BB without the bearings seizing (and I am not the only one). When I changed it to a Shimano branded BB it was OK. It seems the generic BBs usually use 7mm wide bearings and shimano uses 6mm.
Since you don't really have much choice of bottom brackets with that frame (I presume), this might become a problem.

reckonair

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2024, 04:47:57 AM »
Can the supplied BB be discarded and a fresh Shimano branded one be used (as long as it’s to BB386 spec?) if so are threaded/press fit BBs interchangeable? Sorry for the stupid questions I’m new to building bikes.

Thanks!

TidyDinosaur

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2024, 11:51:28 AM »
Can the supplied BB be discarded and a fresh Shimano branded one be used (as long as it’s to BB386 spec?) if so are threaded/press fit BBs interchangeable? Sorry for the stupid questions I’m new to building bikes.

Thanks!