Author Topic: recommendations for my first mtb frame  (Read 1291 times)

Snacks

recommendations for my first mtb frame
« on: January 10, 2021, 07:07:14 PM »
Hi! Im very new to mountain bikes and id like to build myself a full suspension bike.  Ive been doing a bit of research and i think a trail mountain bike is what im looking for. ive read they're a good bike for all type of mountain biking. hopefully thats correct, otherwise if anyone has a suggestion for a better type of frame im all ears. i know the trails my friends ride have it all. hills, descents , jumps and they were saying some have slower technical sections so this is what lead me to look for more of all arounder. ive seen some companies list the type of mtb frame they are but others just have the name. Im assuming you can tell the type of frame based on the geo but im still not sure how to tell one type over another.

then there also different types of suspension. is one better than the next for different types of trails? or are they just different design based on manufacturer? ive read that vpp frames have good anti squat so ive been looking into those .although my buddy said i can get a lockout on the forks and shock so i dont need to worry about anti squat in the suspension. are lockouts commonly used? i see more people talk about dialing in suspension rather than relying on a lockout .

if anyone has any suggestions on a frame that would be great. i know they say buy nice or buy twice but if there is a cheaper frame that i can build up to try out the sport that would be preferred. Thanks!

RedCruz

Re: recommendations for my first mtb frame
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2021, 08:42:17 PM »
Hi Snacks!

Many friends and I started doing MTB in 2020 because of that covid thing! I like this sport very much but I discovered like you that it requires a lot of knowledge to fully enjoy it!