Author Topic: And The Winner Is...  (Read 13715 times)

Aoiree

Re: And The Winner Is...
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2014, 12:06:12 AM »
Grats!

I like the wheel!

Patrick C.

« Reply #16 on: July 15, 2014, 10:54:15 AM »
Thanks guys- I've never built a wheel before, but have wanted to.  I'm thinking this is a good reason to go ahead and do it.  I'm about 200 lbs/90 kg plus water and riding gear.  I don't ride aggressively, but I don't always pick the cleanest line either so durability will be important.  Any suggestions on hubs, spokes, etc.?  How many spokes should I go with for front and rear?

The other option would be to just have IPlay build them up, but I'd still have the same questions on hubs, spoke count, etc. 

Sitar_Ned

« Reply #17 on: July 15, 2014, 10:58:00 AM »
Hey Patrick.. I just started this thread asking about hubs for my weight (same as yours) for a carbon wheelset.. http://chinertown.com/index.php/topic,212.0.html

Sitar_Ned

« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2014, 05:31:08 PM »
Hope you don't mind.. I separated your post into it's own thread on the "Components" board.

I'm also interested in hearing people's thoughts on the Novatech hubs, and I'm sure many others are, as well.. giving it it's own thread will yield more replies.

The thread: http://chinertown.com/index.php/topic,218.0.html

manmythlegend

« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2014, 06:56:42 PM »
Ha! Great video. Congrats to PatC.

Patrick C.

« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2014, 10:54:41 AM »
I received the rims today.  The main delay was me deciding whether to build them myself or order a full wheel set-  I finally decided to try building them myself.  Peter shipped the next day, and EMS shipping took 8 days.

The rims weigh 405 and 410 g on my cheap hanging scale.  So far the plan is to build them up with DT Swiss 350 hubs and Revolution spokes.  After reading a bit, I'm leaning toward getting the hubs in and doing a spoke measurement before ordering a full set of spokes.

Patrick C.