Author Topic: Frame Advice  (Read 2035 times)

Andrewuk5

Frame Advice
« on: January 10, 2023, 02:43:47 PM »
Looking to buy either the Carbonda FM1001 or FM1002.
Is the 1002 a full enduro frame?
I ride mostly black trails with 6ft ish drops, would the 1001 cope with my 120kg, or would the longer travel 1002 suit me ?
I'd like it to be a good climber too.
Any help would be great, I'm new to carbon in general but the geo looks great on these frames.
Thanks

Jotegr

Re: Frame Advice
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2023, 04:38:11 PM »
I'd go for the 1002 if it were your only bike. Both bikes will climb well with the new modern body position. Real climbing differences will moreso come down to the spec choices on each, especially the tires.

FullCarbonAlchemist

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2023, 07:27:04 PM »
I’d definitely pick the 1002 for what you’re describing. The 1001 might technically handle it but the 1002 is much more specifically suited to it.

Heck, a lot of riders would suggest the 1003 for what you’re talking about…but the 1002 can handle it and is a great all-around AM bike.

If you want “real” enduro, go with a 1003. It can be run at 170/170 if you find that 180 is overkill for you.

I ran my 1002 with a 170 fork last season but will probably run it with a 160 in 2023 along with a 1003 at 170/170.

FullCarbonAlchemist

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2023, 07:32:36 PM »
As for climbing, the 1001 and 1002 use the same linkage with basically the same kinematics to the 135mm point — the 1002 just puts a longer shock on it. They both climb quite well for a 4-bar linkage.

Nobody has compared the 1001/2 with the 1003 head to head — I hope to be the first, in a few months — but all descriptions are of it climbing very well for a long travel bike. Looking at it, I bet it climbs just as well if not even a little better than the 4-bars. It’s a slick little design, very well balanced in all its attributes.

casual_build

« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2023, 07:40:28 PM »